Committee on Privilege and Tenure (CPT)

Committee Chair: Donald Senear
Committee Analysts: Kate Brigman and Julie Kennedy


  1. Has jurisdiction over all matters affecting the privileges or tenure of all members of the faculty at Irvine in accordance with the procedures specified by Senate Bylaw (SBL) 334-337 (see below) and Irvine Senate Manual Appendix III; but in all instances it must accord any person whose case is being considered an opportunity to present a defense before a decision is rendered.
  2. Primarily interacts with Vice Provost for Academic Personnel Diane O’Dowd, as the Chancellor’s Designee.


CPT consists of at least ten division members appointed by the Committee on Committees for up to three years.


Complaint Advisor Panel