Council on Planning and Budget (CPB)

Council Chair: Steven Gross
Council Analyst: Michelle Chen


  1. Confer with and advise the Chancellor, the Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor, and campus administrative units on matters of planning, budget, and resource allocations on both short and long-term bases.
  2. Initiates studies in planning and budget matters and, if necessary to accomplish such studies, authorizes establishment of ad hoc committees to carry out investigations and make reports.
  3. Maintains an active relationship with the systemwide University Committee on Planning and Budget (UCPB) through its UCPB representative.
  4. Represent the Council at other Administrative and Senate meetings: Academic Planning Group (APG), Budget Work Group (BWG), Campus Physical and Environmental Committee (CPEC), Design Review Team, Enrollment Council, Small Capital Improvement Program Advisory Committee, and Space Planning Team.

Membership: The Council on Planning and Budget shall consist of twelve Division members, of which two members are from the College of Health Sciences and no more than three members are from any one of the following groups:

  1. Arts/Education/Humanities
  2. Biological Sciences/Physical Sciences
  3. Business/Engineering/Law
  4. ICS/Social Ecology/Social Sciences

In addition, the Chair Elect-Secretary of the Irvine Division shall be an ex officio member. Appropriate administrative officers and staff members may be invited to serve as consultants.

Subcommittees: None

Policies and Procedures: Irvine Bylaw 115