Campuswide Honors Program Board 2018-19 Annual Report

To the Irvine Divisional Assembly:

The Campuswide Honors Program Board (CHPB) respectfully submits its report of activities for the academic year 2018-19

1. Council Operations

Miyha Runnerstrom, Public Health, chaired the Campuswide Honors Program Board in 2018-19. The Board held two meetings this year. The meetings were attended by 11 elected members of the faculty, and an Associated Students of UCI (ASUCI) representative. Ex Officio members are the Vice Provost of Teaching and Learning/Dean of the Division of Undergraduate Education and the Faculty Director of the Campuswide Honors Program. The consultant is the Director of Administration of the Campuswide Honors Program.

2. Divisional Issues/Policies

- A. One of the duties of the CHPB is to advise regarding the CHP curriculum, and to endorse courses proposed to become part of the CHP curriculum. The following proposals regarding curriculum were approved by the board (Meeting of October 8, 2019):
 - a. Approved new CHP seminars to replace seminars that are ending, and add new seminars to serve a larger honors student body. The new courses will go through the course approval process with CEP.
 - i. Lee Cabatingan (Criminology, Law, & Society): "The Properties of Property"
 - ii. Oren Izenberg (English): "What is a Person"
 - iii. Victoria Johnson (Film and Media Studies): "Race/Sports/Media"
 - iv. Sam Schriner (Pharmaceutical Sciences): "Drugs and Society"
 - v. Robin Steinberg-Epstein (UCI Center for Autism and Neurodevelopmental Disorders): "Neuro-Divergent"
 - vi. Alan Terricciano (Arts): "Improvisation and Modes of Research and Creative Expression"
 - vii. Hu Ying (East Asian Studies): "Travelling East/West"
- B. Another responsibility of the board is to determine admission to the program, and to set policies for admission.
 - a. Members of the CHPB review and select prospective freshman applicants for invitation to the CHP. Board members used a spreadsheet developed by CHP Faculty Director Ted Wright, which includes a parameters page where different items can easily be weighted, thus allowing board members to more easily customize their selection as they and their schools see fit.

- b. This year's goal will be 260 incoming freshmen (reduced goal from 2018, since the 2018 freshman yield was unexpectedly large). The CHP is limited as to the total number of students it can serve each year due to staff size.
- c. Each school/academic unit establishes its own criteria for selection from the list. Students selected to be invited to the CHP receive communications from the program, and are invited to special recruitment events in March and April.

C. Name change to the Campuswide Honors Collegium

- a. Vice Provost of Teaching and Learning and Dean of DUE Michael Dennin visited the board to request approval of a name change for the program. This name change differs from the previously approved in AY 2017-18 "UCI Campuswide Honors College." The newly proposed name change is "Campuswide Honors Collegium."
- b. Dean Dennin stated that he wants to change the name now for the following reasons. Changing the name to the Campuswide Honors Collegium:
 - i. Elevates the prestige and visibility of the program, and better reflects the scope of the organization
 - ii. Meets strategic plan goals
 - iii. Helps facilitate conversations with donors about a naming gift opportunity and other major gift opportunities
 - iv. If fundraising goals are not met, we have enacted a simple name change, rather than engage in the administratively complex UC process to become a college
 - v. This change helps address items articulated in a recent review of the Campuswide Honors Program
- c. Approved. Miryha Runnerstrom called for a motion to vote formally to change the name of the Campuswide Honors Program to the Campuswide Honors Collegium. The motion was approved unanimously (Meeting of October 8, 2019).

D. Election of the Chair for 2019-20

Given that there were no agenda items for a spring quarter meeting, and no meeting was held, nominations and voting for the 2019-20 chair took place via email. Siew Teoh (Business) was unanimously elected (Spring Quarter, 2019).

3. Membership

Miryha Runnerstrom, Chair, Health Sciences Amy Bauer, Claire Trevor School of the Arts Zeba Wunderlich, Biological Sciences Siew Hong Teoh, Merage School of Business Deborah Vandell, School of Education Mohammad Al Faruque, Samueli School of Engineering
Lucas Hilderbrand, School of Humanities
Kai Zheng, Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences
Gregory Weiss, Physical Sciences
Ana Muniz, School of Social Ecology
Ivan Jeliazkov, School of Social Sciences
Joseph Colarian, ASUCI student representative and CHP student

Ex Officio

Ted Wright, Faculty Director, Campuswide Honors Program Michael Dennin, Vice Provost of Teaching and Learning and Dean of the Division of Undergraduate Education

Consultant

Lisa Roetzel, Director, Administration, Campuswide Honors Program