

Academic Senate Committee on Scholarly Honors & Awards 307 Aldrich Hall Irvine, CA 92697-1325 (949) 824-7685 www.senate.uci.edu

COMMITTEE ON SCHOLARLY HONORS AND AWARDS 2018 - 2019 ANNUAL REPORT

To the Irvine Divisional Senate Assembly:

The Committee on Scholarly Honors and Awards (SH&A) respectfully submits its report of activities for the 2018-19 academic year.

I. COMMITTEE OPERATIONS

The Committee solicits candidates for each of the eight major Academic Senate Faculty Award categories and selects Academic Senate members for each category. The Committee also piloted and solicited nomination for the proposed Academic Senate Special Award. The Committee's duties and membership are described in Irvine Bylaw 127. Professor of Pharmacology and Developmental and Cell Biology Olivier Civelli chaired the Committee in 2018-19. The Committee met twice during the academic year. Attending regular meetings were five appointed members, the Interim Vice Chancellor for Research, and the Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning and Dean of the Division of Undergraduate Education (DUE).

II. DIVISIONAL ISSUES

A. Academic Senate Faculty Awards

The Committee reviewed 77 nominations for the Academic Senate Faculty Awards for Research, Teaching, Service, Mentorship, and the new Senate Special Award. Members selected the recipients listed below to be honored during the 2019-20 academic year. *The award names below are pending Academic Senate approval.

Academic Senate Senior Faculty Award for Research*

(formerly Distinguished Faculty Award for Research)
Chair and Professor Eric Rignot
Department of Earth System Science
School of Physical Sciences

Academic Senate Mid-Career Faculty Award for Research*

(formerly Distinguished Mid-Career Faculty Award for Research)
Professor Timothy Tait
Department of Physics and Astronomy
School of Physical Sciences

Academic Senate Early-Career Faculty Award for Research*

(formerly Distinguished Assistant Professor Award for Research)
Assistant Professor Jenny Yang
Department of Chemistry
School of Physical Sciences



(formerly Distinguished Faculty Award for Teaching)
Professor Valerie Jenness
Department of Criminology, Law & Society
School of Social Ecology



Academic Senate Early-Career Faculty Award for Teaching*

(formerly Distinguished Assistant Professor Award for Teaching)
Assistant Professor of Teaching Angela Jenks
Department of Anthropology
School of Social Sciences

Daniel G. Aldrich, Jr. Faculty Award for Distinguished University Service*

(formerly Daniel G. Aldrich, Jr. Distinguished University Service Award)
Professor Martha Mecartney
Department of Engineering and Materials Science
The Henry Samueli School of Engineering

Academic Senate Mid-Career Faculty Award for Service*

(formerly Distinguished Mid-Career Faculty Award for Service)
Professor Lisa Grant Ludwig
Program in Public Health

Academic Senate Faculty Award for Mentorship*

(formerly Distinguished Faculty Award for Mentorship)
Associate Professor Anita Casavantes Bradford
Department of Chicano/Latino Studies
School of Social Sciences

Academic Senate Special Award (Theme: Impact on Society)*

(newly established award)
Professor Cornelia Pechmann
Paul Merage School of Business

B. Proposed Academic Senate Special Award

In 2017-18, the Committee forwarded to Senate leadership the criteria for the creation of an additional Senate Award. This year the Committee finalized the award criteria for the proposed Academic Senate Special Award. The Special Award will recognize the exceptional efforts of faculty who have made unusual contributions in a specific topical area of importance to the core values of the University of California, Irvine. Additionally, the Special Award will have an annual theme selected by the Committee, with the 2019-20 theme being "Impact on Society." The Committee has piloted the award for the 2019-20 Academic Senate Faculty Awards and will make any necessary edits to the criteria, as well as decide on the upcoming theme, during the 2019-20 academic year. The Special Award will require approval from the appropriate levels of Senate review.

C. Distinguished Faculty Award Proposed Name Changes

At the request of the Senate Leadership, the Committee drafted name changes for the currently established Distinguished Faculty Awards. The Committee was asked to reconsider the use of the word "Distinguished" in the award names. Following discussion by the Committee, the tentative award name changes were announced in the Call for Nominations for the 2019-20 Academic Senate Faculty Awards. The Committee will continue discussing the proposed name changes and award criteria during the 2019-20 academic year. The tentative award names are subject to change, and will require approval from the appropriate levels of Senate review prior to implementation.

D. Senate Awards Event and Timeline

In an effort to elevate the prestige of the Distinguished Faculty Awards, the Senate was allotted increased funding for the 2018-19 academic year to supplement the monetary award given to recipients, and to prepare for the Distinguished Faculty Awards event. In order to properly plan an elevated event, the Senate Awards Event was postponed from Fall until Winter quarter. Consequently, the Senate Awards timeline was also deferred so that nomination period for the 2019-20 awards opened following the celebration of the 2018-19 recipients. The 2018-19 Faculty Award Event, honoring the 2018-19 Distinguished Faculty Award recipients, was held on February 12, 2019. The 2019-20 Senate Award Call for Nominations was released on March 14, 2019, with a submission deadline of April 29, 2019. Moving forward, the Committee on Scholarly Honors and Awards will operate on the adjusted timeline.

III. Committee Membership

Senate Members (voting)
Olivier Civelli, Health Sciences, Chair
Barbara Dosher, Social Sciences
Marcello Fiocco, Humanities
Michael Goodrich, ICS
Barbara Finlayson-Pitts, Physical Sciences

Ex Officio (non-voting)

Michael Dennin, Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning & Dean, DUE Pramod Khargonekar, Vice Chancellor of Research

<u>Committee Analyst</u>: Christine Aguilar, SH&A Analyst