

Academic Senate Committee on Scholarly Honors & Awards 307 Aldrich Hall Irvine, CA 92697-1325 (949) 824-7685 www.senate.uci.edu

COMMITTEE ON SCHOLARLY HONORS AND AWARDS ANNUAL REPORT 2020-2021

To the Irvine Divisional Senate Assembly:

The Committee on Scholarly Honors and Awards (SH&A) respectfully submits its report of activities for the 2020-21 academic year.

COMMITTEE OPERATIONS

The Committee solicits candidates for each of the Academic Senate Faculty Award categories and selects Academic Senate members for each category. The Committee's duties and membership are described in Irvine Bylaw 127. Professor Barbara Finlayson-Pitts, Physical Sciences, chaired the Committee in 2020-21. The Committee met two times during the academic year. Attending regular meetings were five appointed members, the Vice Chancellor for Research, and a representative from the Office of the Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning.

I. Academic Senate Distinguished Faculty Awards

The Committee reviewed 100 nominations for the Academic Senate Distinguished Faculty Awards for Research, Teaching, Service, Mentorship, and the Academic Senate Better World Award. Members selected the recipients listed below to be honored during the 2021-22 academic year. Two faculty members received the 2021-22 Distinguished Mid-Career Faculty Award for Service.

Distinguished Senior Faculty Award for Research

Distinguished Professor Svetlana Jitomirskaya Department of Mathematics

Distinguished Mid-Career Faculty Award for Research

Associate Professor Chang Liu Department of Biomedical Engineering

Distinguished Early-Career Faculty Award for Research

Associate Professor Sameer Singh Department of Computer Science

Distinguished Faculty Award for Teaching

Professor Sandra Irani Department of Computer Science



Distinguished Early-Career Faculty Award for Teaching Assistant Professor of Teaching Stephen Mang Department of Chemistry

Daniel G. Aldrich, Jr. Distinguished University Service Award Professor Sergey Nizkorodov Department of Chemistry Distinguished Mid-Career Faculty Award for Service Associate Professor Andrew Noymer

Department of Population Health and Disease Prevention

Distinguished Mid-Career Faculty Award for Service

Associate Professor Keramet Reiter Department of Criminology, Law and Society

Distinguished Faculty Award for Mentorship

Associate Professor Tiffany Willoughby-Herard Department of African American Studies

Academic Senate – Better World Award

Professor Claudia Kawas Department of Neurology

The recipients are to be honored at the Distinguished Faculty Awards Event tentatively scheduled to take place on March 9, 2022 from 5:00 to 8:00 pm at the Newkirk Alumni Center (or remotely if needed).

II. Committee Membership

Senate Members (voting) Barbara Finlayson-Pitts, Physical Sciences, Chair Diane Campbell, Biological Sciences David Hirshleifer, Business Peter Krapp, Humanities Donald Saari, Social Sciences

<u>Ex Officio (non-voting)</u> Pramod Khargonekar, Vice Chancellor of Research Brian Sato, Associate Dean for the Division of Teaching Excellence and Innovation

Committee Analyst: Christine Aguilar, SH&A Analyst