

Academic Senate Committee on Scholarly Honors & Awards 307 Aldrich Hall Irvine, CA 92697-1325 (949) 824-7685 www.senate.uci.edu

COMMITTEE ON SCHOLARLY HONORS AND AWARDS ANNUAL REPORT 2021-2022

To the Irvine Divisional Senate Assembly:

The Committee on Scholarly Honors and Awards (SH&A) respectfully submits its report of activities for the 2021-22 academic year.

COMMITTEE OPERATIONS

The Committee solicits candidates for each of the Academic Senate Faculty Award categories and selects Academic Senate members for each category. The Committee's duties and membership are described in Irvine Bylaw 127. Professor Donald Saari, Social Sciences, chaired the Committee in 2021-22. The Committee met twice during the academic year. Attending regular meetings were five appointed members, the Vice Chancellor for Research, and a representative from the Office of the Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning.

I. Academic Senate Distinguished Faculty Awards

The Committee reviewed 68 nominations for the Academic Senate Distinguished Faculty Awards for Research, Teaching, Service, Mentorship, and the Academic Senate Better World Award. Members selected the recipients listed below to be honored during the 2022-23 academic year. Two faculty members received the 2022-23 Distinguished Early-Career Faculty Award for Research.

Distinguished Senior Faculty Award for Research Distinguished Professor Roxane Cohen Silver Department of Psychological Science

Distinguished Mid-Career Faculty Award for Research Professor John Chaput Department of Pharmaceutical Science

Distinguished Early-Career Faculty Award for Research Professor of Law Swethaa Ballakrishnen School of Law

Distinguished Early-Career Faculty Award for Research Assistant Professor Asaf Ferber Department of Mathematics



Distinguished Faculty Award for Teaching Professor Michael Dessen Department of Music

Distinguished Early-Career Faculty Award for Teaching Assistant Professor Celia Faiola Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Daniel G. Aldrich, Jr. Distinguished University Service Award Professor Dan Cooper Department of Pediatrics

Distinguished Mid-Career Faculty Award for Service Associate Professor Long Bui Department of Global & International Studies

Distinguished Faculty Award for Mentorship Professor of Teaching Renee Link Department of Chemistry

Academic Senate – Better World Award Chancellor's Professor Christopher Hughes Department of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry

The recipients are to be honored at the Distinguished Faculty Awards Event scheduled to take place on March 1, 2023, from 5:00 to 8:00 p.m. at the Newkirk Alumni Center (or remotely if needed).

II. Committee Membership

Senate Members (voting)
Donald Saari, Social Sciences, Chair
Diane Campbell, Biological Sciences
Tryphon Georgiou, Engineering
Peter Krapp, Humanities
Sandra Irani, ICS

Ex Officio (non-voting)

Pramod Khargonekar, Vice Chancellor of Research Brian Sato, Associate Dean for the Division of Teaching Excellence and Innovation

Committee Analyst:

Christine Aguilar, SH&A Analyst