

Academic Senate Committee on Scholarly Honors & Awards 307 Aldrich Hall Irvine, CA 92697-1325 (949) 824-7685 www.senate.uci.edu

### COMMITTEE ON SCHOLARLY HONORS AND AWARDS ANNUAL REPORT 2022-2023

### To the Irvine Divisional Senate Assembly:

The Committee on Scholarly Honors and Awards (SH&A) respectfully submits its report of activities for the 2022-23 academic year.

# **COMMITTEE OPERATIONS**

The Committee solicits candidates for each of the Academic Senate Faculty Award categories and selects Academic Senate members for each category. The Committee's duties and membership are described in Irvine Bylaw 127. Professor Peter Krapp, Humanities, chaired the Committee in 2022-23. The Committee met twice during the academic year.

# I. Academic Senate Distinguished Faculty Awards

The Committee reviewed 79 nominations for the Academic Senate Distinguished Faculty Awards for Research, Teaching, Service, Mentorship, and the Academic Senate – Better World Award. Members selected the recipients listed below to be honored during the 2023-24 academic year. Two faculty members received the 2023-24 Academic Senate – Better World Award.

Distinguished Senior Faculty Award for Research Distinguished Professor Krzysztof Palczewski Department of Ophthalmology

Distinguished Mid-Career Faculty Award for Research Professor Kristin Turney Department of Sociology

Distinguished Early-Career Faculty Award for Research Assistant Professor Stephanie Sallum Department of Physics and Astronomy

Distinguished Faculty Award for Teaching Professor Jayne Lewis Department of English

Distinguished Early-Career Faculty Award for Teaching Assistant Professor of Teaching Joel Lanning Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering



Daniel G. Aldrich, Jr. Distinguished University Service Award Distinguished Professor Julia Lupton Department of English

Distinguished Mid-Career Faculty Award for Service Professor Stephanie Reich School of Education Distinguished Faculty Award for Mentorship Professor Michael Yassa Department of Neurobiology and Behavior

Academic Senate – Better World Award Professor in Residence Philip Felgner Department of Physiology and Biophysics

Academic Senate – Better World Award Dean Frank LaFerla School of Biological Sciences

The recipients are to be honored at the Distinguished Faculty Awards Event scheduled to take place in Winter 2024.

#### II. Proposed Revisions to Irvine Bylaw 127. Scholarly Honors and Awards, Committee on

SH&A approved making changes to IBL 127 at its June 8 meeting with the intention of enhancing campus representation. The changes remove the ex officio members (the Vice Chancellor for Research and a representative from the Office of the Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning) whose presence at meetings did not substantially add to the Committee discussions. Additionally, these members rarely attend meetings. There is flexibility for the Committee to invite individuals, including these members, as consultants should their expertise be needed. The Committee also proposed that consideration be given also to previous Council on Academic Personnel (CAP) members for service on the Committee. An integral part of SH&A work is reviewing an average of more than 60 nomination files and selecting the recipients for the Senate Awards; past CAP members would be ideal candidates for SH&A service since they have relevant expertise reviewing and evaluating files.

#### **III.** Increasing Campus Outreach and Participation in the Senate Awards

During the past awards cycle, the Committee made additional efforts to increase campus participation and raise awareness of the awards. In addition to sending the call for nominations to the Senate Membership, School Deans, and Department Chairs, the Committee also contacted Associate Deans, School Faculty Executive Committee Chairs, and School Faculty Awards Committees. Chair Krapp also met with faculty members who approached him with questions regarding the nomination requirements and submission of awards. As a result, SH&A is pleased to report that the number of nominations submitted increased from the previous award cycle. SH&A hopes to further increase campus participation in future years and has discussed potentially attending meetings on campus to further spread awareness.

# IV. Committee Membership

<u>Senate Members (voting)</u> Peter Krapp, Humanities, Chair Diane Campbell, Biological Sciences (Fall 2022 and Winter 2023) Tryphon Georgiou, Engineering John Lowengrub, Physical Sciences Candice Odgers, Social Ecology

<u>Ex Officio (non-voting)</u> Pramod Khargonekar, Vice Chancellor for Research Brian Sato, Associate Dean for the Division of Teaching Excellence and Innovation <u>Committee Analyst</u>: Christine Aguilar, SH&A Analyst