

Academic Senate Committee on Scholarly Honors & Awards 307 Aldrich Hall Irvine, CA 92697-1325 (949) 824-7685 www.senate.uci.edu

COMMITTEE ON SCHOLARLY HONORS AND AWARDS 2019 - 2020 ANNUAL REPORT

To the Irvine Divisional Senate Assembly:

The Committee on Scholarly Honors and Awards (SH&A) respectfully submits its report of activities for the 2019-20 academic year.

I. COMMITTEE OPERATIONS

The Committee solicits candidates for each of the Academic Senate Faculty Award categories and selects Academic Senate members for each category. The Committee's duties and membership are described in Irvine Bylaw 127. Professor of Pharmacology and Developmental and Cell Biology Olivier Civelli chaired the Committee in 2019-20. The Committee met three times during the academic year. Attending regular meetings were five appointed members, the Vice Chancellor for Research, and a representative from the Office of the Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning.

II. DIVISIONAL ISSUES

A. Academic Senate Faculty Awards

The Committee reviewed 73 nominations for the Academic Senate Faculty Awards for Research, Teaching, Service, Mentorship, and the Academic Senate Better World Award. Members selected the recipients listed below to be honored during the 2020-21 academic year. Two faculty members received the 2020-21 Distinguished Early-Career Faculty Award for Research.

Distinguished Senior Faculty Award for Research

Chancellor's Professor Michele Goodwin School of Law

Distinguished Mid-Career Faculty Award for Research

Professor Roman Vershynin Department of Mathematics

Distinguished Early-Career Faculty Award for Research*

Assistant Professor Laura Enriquez
Departments of Chicano/Latino Studies and of Sociology

Distinguished Early-Career Faculty Award for Research

Assistant Professor Huolin Xin Department of Physics and Astronomy

Distinguished Faculty Award for Teaching

Professor Philip Collins
Department of Physics and Astronomy

Distinguished Early-Career Faculty Award for Teaching

Assistant Professor of Teaching Natascha Buswell Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering



Daniel G. Aldrich, Jr. Distinguished University Service Award

Professor Arthur Lander Department of Developmental and Cell Biology

Distinguished Mid-Career Faculty Award for Service

Professor Judith Stepan-Norris Department of Sociology

Distinguished Faculty Award for Mentorship

Professor Emerita Lorraine Evangelista Sue and Bill Gross School of Nursing

Academic Senate - Better World Award

Professor Donald Blake Department of Chemistry

The recipients are to be honored at the Distinguished Faculty Awards Event tentatively scheduled to take place Wednesday, February 10, 2021 from 5:00 to 8:00 pm at the Newkirk Alumni Center (or remotely if needed).

B. Revisions to Irvine Bylaw 127. Scholarly Honors and Awards, Committee on

SH&A initiated the modifications to Bylaw 127 so to give the Committee the power to add additional awards to their purview, with the approval of the Senate Chair. Additionally, SH&A proposed to remove the listing of award names from the bylaw itself. These changes would allow SH&A to make changes to the awards and add new awards without needing to initiate the lengthy bylaw change process. SH&A will instead keep all award names and eligibility requirements as a procedural document that can be found on the Senate website. The modifications would also allow for the Vice Provost of Teaching and Learning to send a representative other than the Vice Provost themselves as an ex officio member to SH&A meetings. This change came out of discussions with the Vice Provost of Teaching and Learning who shared that another faculty member from their office would be better qualified to attend meetings and provide evaluations. SH&A agreed that the best-qualified representative should serve as the ex officio member. Lastly, SH&A made some formatting changes to the structuring of the bylaw to match that of other Senate bylaws. The Divisional Senate Assembly approved the proposed modifications at its January 20, 2020 meeting.

C. Revisions to the Academic Senate Faculty Award Names and Criteria

Following the approval of modifications to Irvine Bylaw 127, SH&A was able to make modifications to the names and criteria of the Senate Faculty Awards in preparation for the 2020 Call for Nominations. SH&A reviewed the standing award names and made changes to make these names more uniform. This included adding "Senior" and "Early-Career" to some award names to compliment the standing "Mid-Career" award names. In regards to criteria, SH&A clearly defined the Professor Ranks and Steps eligible for each award, added language to clarify that faculty outside of the Professor series are eligible for these awards (as long as they hold an Academic Senate Title), and edited the criteria language to ensure it properly describes the qualities needed to merit the award. These changes were approved by Committee vote at its February 5, 2020 meeting.

D. Academic Senate - Better World Award

In the 2018-19 academic year, SH&A implemented and piloted the Academic Senate Special Award. When the award was first proposed, SH&A noted that the award would be revised

following the first year, and that any changes would be communicated to the Senate Chair for comments. This year SH&A reviewed the award and made the following changes: To increase the popularity of the award and make it broader in spectrum, SH&A voted to change the award name to the "Better World Award" and to not change its theme annually, as was proposed when the award was initiated. The award will have a set criteria, similar to the other Senate awards. Additionally, the Committee will revisit the award criteria annually, along with that of the other eight awards, and make any necessary edits. SH&A also noted that changing the theme annually might result in insufficient nominations, as faculty may need time more time to familiarize themselves with the award criteria in order to make proper nominations. The choice of making a "Better World Award" was reached upon the desire of the Committee to open the award to recipients who have impacted the society as globally as possible. These changes were approved by Committee vote at its February 5, 2020 meeting. The Senate Chair subsequently approved the changes via email on February 27, 2020.

III. COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Senate Members (voting)
Olivier Civelli, Health Sciences, Chair
Barbara Finlayson-Pitts, Physical Sciences
Marcello Fiocco, Humanities
Michael Goodrich, ICS
Donald Saari, Social Sciences

Ex Officio (non-voting)

Pramod Khargonekar, Vice Chancellor of Research Brian Sato, Associate Dean for the Division of Teaching Excellence and Innovation

Committee Analyst:

Christine Aguilar, SH&A Analyst